The Phone Courtesan


What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?
May 16, 2007, 1:48 pm
Filed under: What Do You... | Tags: , , , ,

Were you ever asked that question when you were a child?

And I assume, depending on your age, you gave the appropriate answer based on your place in childhood at the time. Anything from a cowboy, to a nurse, to a teacher to an astronaut, doctor etc, etc… Personally, I don’t remember how I ever answered that question. But deep in my heart, I always wanted to perform autopsies. And yes, that was years before the CSI world was opened up to us all on television. I loved the idea of digging into the body and discovering what had happened inside that person. Being able to give an answer with dignity and respect as to what had happened in that body, to me was a very important aspect.

Well, that was then. Life has a way of channeling our paths with different experiences and opportunities of the moment. While I sometimes ponder those paths, insert Robert Frost here, : ) I have no regrets. Not even the confusing circumstances, the sad memories, the happy and the memorable ones, that I will treasure forever. If you put all of your moments together, you have you, like it or not. I think the best part, is that we do have a myriad of choices at our fingertips. The least of which, is our attitude and our ability to be open minded to embrace those opportunities life offers us.

So, we fast forward. After 27 years happily immersed in my career as a nanny, to only two families, I was ready for a change. Yes, it’s true. I am a natural born caregiver and very loyal. I care with my whole heart. I offered my young charges stability, warmth, respect, safety, and a listening ear. All sprinkled with the right amount of tolerance, discipline and appropriate boundaries.

Now instead of young charges, I have ‘my men’ that I enjoy. I had no idea I would grow up to be the woman I am now. It is a strange turn of events, and one I am glad I was open minded enough to embrace. My entrepreneurial spirit is no different than any other business minded persons. I have the same business concerns. There are marketing issues, client demographics, emails to answer, advertising, always trying to get the best percentage from my credit card companies and never ending taxes. I eat, breathe and sleep my business, 24/7.

But after all is said and done, and I finally get that moment in time to share with you, I am happy. You see, I get to dig into that body, that mind of yours and discover with you, where we can go. I get to care for you.

I have over time, become very proud of the skills I have. I am fulfilled in many ways knowing that I can bring such warm satisfaction to all of my men.

No, I do not have the conventional job. My work allows me to add to society, not take. I love what I do, and I care about what I do.

We are all blessed to have so many paths to choose from. Follow your hearts desire.

I feel like I am the luckiest woman in the world.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Interesting post. I always told my kids
they needed to find work they loved. Otherwise
life was just putting in time until you die.

Comment by Ez

E

Thank you for such an honest response. Having looked at your blog – I see why and I like your blog. You do understand very well the changing paths and adventures we adults can be fortunate enough to encounter. I wish you well on your path. Enjoy your adventures.

Kris

Comment by Kris




Leave a Reply

